The 2019 Manateq Qatar Cross-Country Rally and program took place this past week. At least seven Can-Am Maverick racing teams entered, including the Monster Energy Can-Am team of Reinaldo Varela and  Gustavo Gugelmin.
The Monster Energy Can-Am South Racing teammates, who earned a podium at the 2019 Dakar race and won it in 2018, are now taking on the field in the desert landscapes of Qatar. The South Racing Can-Am Team has entered a pair of Can-Am Maverick X3 drivers as well in Oman’s Abdullah Al-Zubair and Russian driver Fedor Yorobeyev.
The Manateq Qatar Cross-Country Rally, organized by the Qatar Motor and Motorcycle Federation (QMMF), began February 22nd with the first of five desert stages of around 102km. Feb. 23-26, drivers faced four selective sections across much of the desert terrain of the State of Qatar. Timed sections of 313km, 338km, 350km and 270km – totaling 1,367km (849 miles) – for the remaining four days were completed before the finish on the Pearl-Qatar. This Lusail-based event is the first round of the FIA World Cup for Cross-Country Rallies. that has them racing in Qatar, Abu Dhabi, Turkmenistan, Kazakhstan and Morocco. The T3 (SSV) category has become the most popular of the three FIA car racing categories (T1, T2 and T3) on the back of the success of the Side-by-Side (SxS) section at the Dakar Rally.

Qatar is the peninsula of land bordering Saudi Arabia that protrudes into the Persian Gulf. The desert geography or topography could be described as sandy, rocky and mostly flat. Though its sand dunes have been called massive and stunning.

 Monster Energy Can-Am racers Reinaldo Varela and Gustavo Gugelmin earned the T3 category win with their South Racing-prepped Can-Am Maverick X3 Turbo R at the for 2019. The Brazilian duo completed the multiple-day desert course in a time of 19:14.08 to earn the class win by more than two hours, while also earning a very respectable seventh-place overall amongst all classifications. Russia’s FedorVorobyev, with co-driver Kirill Shubin, took the runner-up spot in the class (8th overall), also in a Can-Am Maverick X3 Turbo R.
1. 209 T3 Monster Energy Can-Am,  Reinaldo Marques Varela (BRA )/Gustavo Souza Gugelmin (BRA ) – Can-Am Maverick – 19hr 14min 08sec
2. 216 T3 Zavidovo Racing Team, Fedor Vorobyev (RUS )/Kirill Shubin (RUS ) – Can-Am Maverick
3. 221      T3    Camelia Liparoti (ITA )/Max Delfino (FRA ) – Other
Photos provided by Can-Am through MCH Photography
You might also like

Comments are closed.