— Can-Am Sponsored Event —

King of the Hammers has grown to be known as the toughest UTV race on the planet. However, there is only one name who has figured out how to conquer the now 160-mile rock and desert event—Guthrie. Mitch Guthrie and his co-driver Mitch Jr. have won the grueling event six times. Five of the wins saw Mitch Jr. in the passenger seat learning the ropes. After winning his second consecutive KOH in 2019, it looks as though Mitch Jr. has taken over the reins and is filling up the record books on his own.

The top Yamaha drivers, Jason Weller, Johnny and CJ Greaves, ran up front early on, then had issues that took all three of them out of a finishing position.
Shannon Campbell, a multi-time winner in the 4400 Unlimited category, was incredible to watch this year. He hit a rock early on and bent a front control arm. He fought the steering wheel and ill handling through every rock section and managed to pull off a fourth place. His son Wayland finished second.
Mitch Guthrie Jr. backed up his 2018 win with another commanding victory for 2019. The Guthrie name has won 8 out of 11 UTV class victories in the race’s history. Junior’s navigator, Jon Crowley, has competed in as many races, landing on the podium nearly every time out.

For 2019, Mitch Guthrie Jr. called on experienced KOH competitor Jon Crowley to sit in the right seat and handle the navigation and winching duties. As it turns out, Crowley had an uneventful day, only having to get out once for a belt change. The team had pre-ran every inch of the course, including all of the rock sections several times prior to the race. The duo knew every rock on the course and raced a flawless run that lasted 4:52m, taking the win by nearly 30 minutes over Polaris RZR teammates Wayland Campbell and Branden Sims. Guthrie’s father did not make it to the finish line this year. Second-place finisher Wayland Campbell’s father, Shannon, finished in the fourth spot. The Currie brothers, Casey and Cody, brought their Can-Am X3s to the finish line in 9th and 24th place. Phil Blurton was the highest-finishing X3 in 8th, and the other factory Can-Am driver Dustin Jones finished in the 10th spot in his first attempt at KOH. Another father and son team, Johnny and C.J. Greaves, had issues and did not finish in the allotted eight-hour time limit. In fact, nearly 80 of the competitors didn’t score an official finish, solidifying the Can-Am King of the Hammers presented by HCR as the toughest UTV race in the U.S.

A variety of issues kept the Yamahas from finishing this year’s race.
A record number of 113 UTVs entered the 2019 event. The finishing rate was higher than usual, with 28 cars crossing the line within the time limit.
Sara Price was one of the names we expected to do well. Unfortunately, she and her co-driver Erica Sacks crossed the line too late to make an official finish. Mitch Guthrie Sr. was also a DNF.


1. Mitch Guthrie Jr. Polaris RZR XP Turbo

2. Wayland Campbell Polaris RZR XP Turbo

3. Brandon Simms Polaris RZR XP Turbo

4. Shannon Campbell Polaris RZR XP Turbo

5. Jacob Versey Polaris RZR XP Turbo

6. Evan Engelhardt Polaris RZR XP Turbo

7. Bryce Menzies Polaris RZR XP Turbo

8. Phil Blurton Can-Am Maverick X3

9. Casey Currie Can-Am Maverick X3

10. Dustin Jones Can-Am Maverick X3

11. Broc Smith Polaris RZR XP 1000-4

12. Dan Fresh Can-Am Maverick X3

13. Chayse Chaprara Can-Am Maverick X3

14. Nicholas Turner Can-Am Maverick X3

15. Craig Scanlon Polaris RZR XP Turbo

16. Travis Zollinger Can-Am Maverick X3

17. Anthony Yount Polaris RZR XP Turbo

18. Ben Jones Can-Am Maverick X3

19. Michael Lee Polaris RZR XP Turbo

20. James Cantrell Polaris RZR XP Turbo

21. Chad Hughes Can-Am Maverick Sport X rc

22. Dustin Robbins Polaris RZR XP 1000-

23. Knox Griffin Polaris RZR XP Turbo

24. Cody Currie Can-Am Maverick X3

25. Lanse Chournos Polaris RZR XP 10

26. Marcos Gomez Can-Am Maverick X3

27. Brent Zimmerman Polaris RZR XP Turbo

28. Bailey Campbell Polaris RZR XP Turbo

Marc Burnett put on a strong run early on, but took himself out with a mechanical failure. Burnett’s Can-Am teammate was the highest-finishing X3 in 8th place.
Can-Am’s/S3 Powersports Dustin Jones attempted his first KOH and impressed his fans with a solid top-10 finish.
More and more 4400 (Unlimited class) drivers are entering the UTV race, too, not only for practice but for exposure. Some of these builds are looking more like rock buggies than UTVs.


2019—Mitch Guthrie Jr.

2018—Mitch Guthrie Jr.

2017—Wayland Campbell

2016—Blake Van De Loo

2015—Mitch Guthrie

2014—Mitch Guthrie

2013—Mitch Guthrie

2012—Mitch Guthrie

2011—Brandon Schueler

2010—Mitch Guthrie

2009—Mitch Guthrie



You might also like

Comments are closed.