— Hot UTV racing hits Arizona —

Round three of the UTV/ATV World Off-Road Championship Series (WORCS) schedule was held at Canyon MX in Peoria, Arizona, and Corbin Leaverton (Pol) and Matt Hancock (Pol) were big Pro-class winners. The Canyon MX round drew more than 149 UTV entries, and the course was gnarly, with plenty of rocks and cacti to punish those that overcooked turns. The Canyon MX course provided plenty of tabletop jumps, and most of the course was laid out on a large plateau adjacent to Peoria Airport, but it also dropped into a large river wash with plenty of sand, silt and rocks. Beautiful weather and constant watering made for great UTV racing.

Shelby Anderson scored her best Pro Stock 1000 finish of the year and knocked Matt Hancock off of the podium for third on adjusted time. Hancock would get revenge in Sunday’s Pro Turbo main.
The 1000 Stock class had an all-Polaris podium with Justin Covarrubias, Cayden Maccachren and Emily Green. Here RS1 pilots Joe Kalous and Sebastian Marquez pull tandem mongo bicycles on their way to DNFs.
Canyon MX in Peoria, Arizona, hosted round 3 of the World Off-Road Championship Series (WORCS) and produced some exciting, close racing. In Sunday’s premiere race, the Pro Turbos had this close physical finish, with Cody Miller, Hunter Miller and Beau Baron nose to tail.

The Pro Stock 1000 class was a parade of RZR RS1s, with three waves starting and dropping into the wash. Leaverton led the 1000s from green flag to checkers, with Cody Bradbury, Beau Baron, Hancock and Chris Johnson in tow, all in RS1s. Baron developed brake problems and faded, while Shelby Anderson charged from a second-row start in a RZR XP. Anderson finished with a better elapsed time, besting Hancock for the final podium position.

Corbin Leaverton backed up his round-two win with the Pro Stock 1000 overall in Arizona, and he leads the class by 9 points after three rounds over Hancock, who is from nearby Witmann, and Baron.
RZR RS1s were out in full force at the Arizona WORCS round, and Chris Johnson was fifth in Pro Stock 1000 on Saturday and sixth in Pro Turbos on Sunday.
Local Matt Hancock holeshot the Pro Turbo second wave over Davi Haagsma (422) and Shawn Saxton (18), and Hancock snatched the overall victory by cutting faster last laps than the leaders and winning on adjusted time by almost 17 seconds.

Racing was also hot and heavy in Pro Turbo, with Cody Miller pulling the holeshot over brother Hunter and Baron. Cody stretched his lead over Hunter and Beau, but his X3 slowed on the last two of five laps. The top three finished within two seconds of each other, but Hancock put on a charge from the second row. He won on adjusted time, and the Millers rounded out the podium. Two podiums in the first three rounds lets Cody Miller stretch the Turbo points lead over Cody Bradbury, who DNF’d the gnarly round, while Hancock’s win puts him within one point of second.

In Pro 1000s, Leaverton’s second win in a row stretches his points lead over the two defending champions, Bradbury (1000) and Baron (Turbo), who are tied for second.


After 3 of 8 rounds:

Pro 1000 UTVs

1. Corbin Leaverton/Pol 65/2

2. Matt Hancock/Pol 56

3. Beau Baron/Pol 53

4. Cody Bradbury/Pol 50

5. Shelby Anderson/Pol 45

10. Ronnie Anderson/Pol 25/1

Pro Turbo UTVs

1. Cody Miller/C-A 52

2. Cody Bradbury/Pol 45/1

3. Beau Baron/Pol 45

4. Matt Hancock/Pol 44/1

5. Hunter Miller/C-A 43

12. Ronnie Anderson/Pol 25/1


Peoria, Arizona

Pro 1000 UTVs

1. Corbin Leaverton Pol

2. Cody Bradbury Pol

3. Shelby Anderson Pol

4. Matt Hancock .Pol

5. Chris Johnson Pol

6. Brandon Conrad Pol

7. Larry Heidler Pol

8. Beau Baron Pol

9. Cameron Dessaints Pol

10. Nic Granlund Yam

Pro UTV Turbos

1. Matt Hancock Pol

2. Cody Miller C-A

3. Hunter Miller C-A

4. Beau Baron Pol

5. Beau Judge C-A

6. Chris Johnson Pol

7. Larry Heidler Pol

8. Randal Nix Pol

9. Nic Granlund Yam

10. Brian Willison Pol


Canyon Motocross

9777 W. Carefree Hwy Peoria, AZ 85383 (480) 294-4467



You might also like

Comments are closed.