Round 6 of the World Off-Road Championship Series (WORCS) was hosted by Glen Helen Raceway, and the course was fast and rough, with lots of jumps. Using much the Glen Helen Motocross National Track and REM/Vet MX track, the WORCS course also used much of the Lucas Oil Off-Road short-course course, dirt parking lots, and a sand-wash woods section. Add the brutal heat, and the Glen Helen WORCS round waged a war of attrition on the UTV and ATV racers. This was the first UTV round since the summer break, and the racing was as hot and heavy as the weather and course.

Corbin Leaverton scored his third Pro Stock 1000 win of the season at Glen Helen and stretched his class points lead.

Pro Stock 1000 UTVs: The Pro Stock 1000s first wave headed in to the Talladega first turn four abreast, until Matt Hancock and Shelby Anderson locked wheels and Anderson did a 55-mph bicycle. Beau Baron had the inside line and took the lead over Corbin Leaverton. Baron gapped the field on the first lap, but Leaverton put on a charge and took the lead on the second lap. While Leaverton and Baron ran 1-2 in their RS1s, Ronnie Anderson and Cody Bradbury moved up from sixth and seventh and battled as they worked past Davi Haagsma, Hancock, and Shelby Anderson.

Beau Baron led the Pro Stock 1000s early but had to settle for second. He would also finish second in Pro Turbo UTVs the next day.

Bradbury turned the fastest lap of the race on lap five, a 07:43.129, after getting past Ronnie Anderson for third. Polaris RS1s took the top six positions with Leaverton scoring his third win of the season, and stretching his Pro Stock UTV points lead to 24 over Baron. Shelby Anderson moved up to third but had a bad fourth lap and dropped to sixth, and she was eventually lapped by Leaverton. Only 11 of 16 Pro Stocks finished all seven laps of the one-hour race, with Polaris RZRs taking the top eight spots.

Hunter Miller led the Pro Turbo UTV main early, but Cody Bradbury took the lead on the second lap. Both would drop out of the top five in the last two laps.

Pro Turbo UTVs:  Again the high-speed start and Talladega first turn took its toll during the Pro Turbo UTV start, as Hunter Miller (C-A) pinched off brother Cody, who dropped to fourth as Hunter took the lead ahead of Bradbury and Matt Hancock. Baron in a normally-aspirated RZR RS1 was fifth, and it took him three laps to catch the lead pack. Bradbury took the lead on the second lap and turned the fastest lap of the race on lap five, a 07:27.370. He was then penalized for speeding through the scoring chute and had a bad sixth lap, dropping to eighth.

Cody Miller drove a smart Pro Turbo race and took the lead for his second win and fifth podium of the WORCS season.

Cody Miller was running second during the middle of the Turbo main then took the lead and set sail in the last two laps with Baron second in the Holz/CST Racing RS1 ahead of Matt Hancock. Early leader Hunter Miller had a jump landing so hard that his intake came loose, and he had to pit. He worked back into the top 10, but Glen Helen wasn’t as kind to Ronnie Anderson (Pol) , Davi Haagsma (Pol), Brian Willison (Pol) and Chris Johnson (C-A). On the last lap, Shawn Saxton put on a charge and snatched third from Hancock, who had scored the win in the third round over the Millers.

With three rounds to go, Cody Miller’s second win of the WORCS season, to go with three seconds, moves him to a 26-point lead over defending Pro Stock champ Bradbury and 30 over brother Hunter. Baron’s second moves him to within two points of Hancock, who sits fourth in points.

The Glen Helen Raceway WORCS course was fast and rough, and defending Pro Stock champ Cody Bradbury set the fastest UTV lap of the weekend while leading.


Pro Stock 1000:

1. Corbin Leaverton…Pol

2. Beau Baron…Pol

3. Ronnie Anderson…Pol

4. Cody Bradbury…Pol

5. David Haagsma…Pol

6. Matthew Hancock…Pol

7. Randal Nix…Pol

8. Larry Heidler…Pol

9. Skyler Bulloch…Tex

10. Nic Granlund…Yam

Pro SxS Turbo:

1. Cody Miller…C-A

2. Beau Baron…Pol

3. Shawn Sexton…Pol

4. Matt Hancock…Pol

5. Nic Granlund…Yam

6. Colby Wemple…Pol

7. Larry Heidler…Pol

8. Cody Bradbury…Pol

9. Jeremiah Wagner…Pol

10. Hunter Miller…C-A

Comments are closed.